| |
Central District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Local News Releases
Welcome to the Central District

Missouri River Bridge Opening Delayed

MRB traffic switchUnforeseen structural repairs uncovered during the painting process will delay the opening of the westbound Route 54/63 bridge over the Missouri River in Jefferson City, Missouri Department of Transportation officials announced today.

The bridge painting project was expected to be finished by the end of August. A re-opening date has not been set. (MORE)

Travelers are reminded that just one bridge is carrying both directions of Route 54/63 traffic over the Missouri River in Jefferson City. The westbound bridge closed on May 1 for repainting and general maintenance, and traffic is diverted to the eastbound bridge.

In addition to the bridge closure, the following access ramps are closed:

  • All access ramps from Route 54/63 to and from West Main Street;
  • The eastbound on-ramp from McCarty St. to Route 54/63; and
  • The westbound on-ramp from Route W to Route 54/63.

Tools Available to Help Bridge Commuters

MoDOT offers a a variety of tools to help bridge commuters stay informed. (MORE)

Helpful Link:
Westbound Missouri River Bridge Maintenance Webpage

Work on U.S. 63/I-70 Interchange to Close Lanes During Overnight Hours


Pavement repair work will begin on the U.S. Route 63/Interstate 70 interchange area in Columbia, including Route PP west of Creekwood Parkway, on Monday, August 1.

This work will close various lanes through the Route 63/I-70 interchange each weekday from 6 p.m. until 6 a.m. through late August. At least one lane of traffic will be open in each direction at all times during the work. Message boards and signs will direct traffic through the work zone. When all pavement repair work is complete, Route 63 and the interchange area will be resurfaced with asphalt this fall. (MORE)  

I-70 Traffic at Lamine River Bridges to Switch on Saturday

Travel Will Remain Down to One Lane in Each Direction Through August
Lamine River Bridge

The good news: Repairs to the eastbound Interstate 70 bridge over the Lamine River west of Boonville are complete almost two weeks ahead of schedule. The bad news: I-70 will remain reduced to one lane of traffic in each direction while the westbound bridge is rehabilitated.

Moving traffic from the westbound bridge to the newly repaired eastbound bridge will begin the morning of Saturday, July 30. Traffic is expected to be totally switched by early morning on Tuesday, Aug. 2.

Still, Peck said, traffic will continue to be reduced to one lane in each direction through the end of August, causing congestion, especially on peak travel days, which primarily are Thursday through Sunday. I-70 motorists are strongly encouraged to use alternate east-west routes, such as U.S. Routes 50 and 36, while the project is in progress. (MORE)


Helpful Link:

Lamine River Bridge Repairs Webpage

New Business Loop Interchange OPEN

Bus Loop Opens I70 BRTwo dual-lane roundabouts, along with an improved configuration,  will move traffic faster and more safely through the highly traveled Business Loop 70/West Boulevard interchange opened to traffic on Wednesday.

The completion of the interchange marks the last major work to be completed as part of the Columbia I-70 bridges project, an $18 million design-build effort that began last August and included replacing the aging Interstate 70 bridges at Garth Avenue, Range Line Street and Business Loop. (MORE)


You can view the progress at Business Loop on a camera posted on the project website: www.MoDOT.org/ColumbiaBridges.

BL 70 time lapse video

For more information or to sign up for weekly e-mail updates, visit the project website at: www.modot.org/ColumbiaBridges

HotinPlaceRecyclingKingdomCityInnovative Paving Process Taking Place on U.S. Route 54 Near Kingdom City                       


An environmentally friendly, cost-efficient paving process has begun on U.S. Route 54 near Kingdom City.  The innovative maintenance process, called Hot-In-Place recycling, uses specialized equipment to recycle existing asphalt material on the highway to repair and rehabilitate the deteriorated roadway.

The operation will require single-lane lane closures in the eastbound and westbound lanes of Route 54 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. each weekday until late August. The work will start on Route 54 from the Business 54 ramp in Fulton and will continue to a location 2.5 miles north of the I-70 Interchange. One lane will be open through the work zone. (MORE)


Lafayette Street Interchange Project Update


Scheduled Work During the Week of July 25th (please note that all activities and schedules are weather permitting):  Contractors will be working on retaining walls, paving and installing traffic signals on Lafayette Street, and tying reinforcing steel at the Jackson St. bridge.

Upcoming Traffic Impacts:

  • There will be periodic lane closures of eastbound and westbound U.S. Route 50/63 from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. in the work zone area Monday thru Friday. There will also be periodic lane closures on 50/63 from Monroe St. to Chestnut St. from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Sunday thru Saturday.

Helpful Links :
Lafayette Interchange Website



Latest News



Columbia I-70
Bridges Project


Lafayette Street


I-70 Lamine River
Bridge Repairs

Roundabouts Button

Central Missouri


2016 Central District
Work Zones



VIDEO: MoDOT Workers

Recall Crash


VIDEO: Hurricane Deck

Bridge Demo Explosions


VIDEO: Hurricane Deck

Timelapse Construction

District Map
Central District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
On the Move
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Howard Boone Cooper Morgan Camden Laclede Pulaski Phelps Dent Moniteau Miller Cole Crawford Washington Maries Callaway Osage Gasconade Northwest Northeast Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis iTunes Android