

Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission Policies

Category: ORGANIZATION

Subcategory: District Office Structure

DISTRICT OFFICE STRUCTURE

On April 2, 1917, the State Highway Board (predecessor to the Commission) concurred in the State Highway Engineer's recommendation to divide the state into six highway districts. Realizing the increase of work to be accomplished under the 1921 Centennial Road Law, the newly created State Highway Commission increased the number of districts from six to ten on May 9, 1922. In 1942, in response to a request from the Commission, the Department staff studied the possibility of consolidating the districts by eliminating either two or five district offices and reported that no appreciable savings would be realized. On August 14, 1987, the Commission realigned the ten districts to more efficiently spread the work load among the Districts and better serve the public. On June 8, 2011, the Commission reduced the number of districts from ten to seven.

The 2011 action was part of a plan to downsize the Department not only to more appropriately meet the needs of a significantly reduced construction program, but also to restructure the organization in such a manner as to accommodate a larger construction program should additional funds for highway improvements be made available in the future. The equipment fleet was reduced by approximately 740 units; and the workforce was reduced from 6,300 positions to approximately 5,100. The total number of facilities was reduced from 341 to 217; this included a reduction of maintenance facilities from 281 to 177, resident engineer offices from 46 to 33, district offices from 10 to 7, and the elimination of 4 leased facilities.

The Commission directed that, to the extent possible, the closed district office buildings be used for the benefit of local communities. Initially, the building in Joplin was used by the Joplin School district while the community recovered from a devastating tornado. Eventually, the school district recovered and the Commission conveyed the former Joplin district office to the Ozark Center on August 5, 2015. In 2012, the Commission entered into a ten-year lease/sales option agreement with the City of Willow Springs, this lease remains in place. For the facility in Macon, the county leased the property initially and was able to exercise the sales option. On December 27, 2013, the Commission conveyed the former Macon district office property to the County of Macon.