

MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Official Minutes

TABLE OF CONTENTS

June 13, 2013

Election/Appointment of	Committee Bo	ard Members and	Chairs	3
	Committee Do	ara monitoris ana	C11a115	,

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING HELD BY ELECTRONIC BALLOT ON THURSDAY, JUNE 13, 2013

A special meeting of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission was held by electronic ballot on Thursday, June 13, 2013, in order to elect or approve the appointment of committee board members and chairs. The meeting was called pursuant to Section 226.120 of the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The Secretary verified that notice of the meeting was given in keeping with Section 610.020 of the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The following members of the Commission submitted ballots: Chairman Lloyd J. Carmichael, Vice-Chair Stephen R. Miller, Commissioner Kenneth H. Suelthaus, Commissioner Kelley M. Martin, and Commissioner Gregg C. Smith. On February 2, 2012, Governor Nixon withdrew the appointment of Commissioner Joseph J. Hunt; at the time of the June 13, 2013, meeting, a replacement had not been appointed.

The meeting was called pursuant to Section 226.120 of the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The Secretary verified that notice of the meeting was posted in keeping with Section 610.020 of the 2000 Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended.

"Department" or "MoDOT" herein refers to Missouri Department of Transportation.

"Commission" or "MHTC" herein refers to Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

ELECTION/APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE BOARD MEMBERS AND CHAIRS

On June 3, 2013, Governor Jeremiah (Jay) Nixon appointed Kelley M. Martin of Kansas City and Gregg C. Smith of Clinton to the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission for terms ending March 1, 2019, or until his successor is duly appointed and qualified. Mr. Martin filled the position held by Commissioner Rudolph E. Farber whose term expired. Mr. Smith filled the position held by Commissioner Grace M. Nichols whose term expired.

Commissioner Farber served on the MoDOT and Patrol Employee's Retirement System Board of Trustees (MPERS). The replacement of Commissioner Farber created a vacancy on the MPERS Board of Trustees, which needed to be filled prior to their regularly scheduled meeting of June 20, 2013.

Chairman Carmichael nominated Commissioner Martin to fill the position on the MPERS Board of Trustees. Via electronic ballots received by the Secretary to the Commission, the Commission unanimously elected Commissioner Martin to serve on the MoDOT and Patrol Employees Retirement Systems (MPERS) Board of Trustees.

* * * * * * *

* * * * * * *

The Mission of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is to:

- Represent the citizens of Missouri pursuant to the Constitution by providing independent and nonpartisan governance of the Missouri Department of Transportation; and
- Establish policies, exercise oversight, and ensure accountability in developing and maintaining a world class transportation system in Missouri which fosters safety and economic development.

* * * * * * *