

MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

**Official Minutes** 

**TABLE OF CONTENTS** 

May 21, 2014

## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, MAY 21, 2014

A special meeting of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission was held via teleconference on Wednesday, May 21, 2014. Stephen R. Miller, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. The following Commissioners were present by teleconference: Chairman Stephen R. Miller, Vice-Chairman Lloyd J. Carmichael, Kenneth H. Suelthaus, and Gregg C. Smith.

On February 6, 2014, Governor Nixon withdrew the appointment of Commissioner Kelley M. Martin; at the time of the May 21, 2014 meeting, a replacement had not been appointed. On May 6, 2014, Governor Nixon withdrew the appointment of Commissioner Bryan T. Scott; at the time of the May 21, 2014 meeting, a replacement had not been appointed.

The meeting was called pursuant to Section 226.120 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The Secretary verified that notice of the meeting was posted in keeping with Section 610.020 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

Dave Nichols, Director of the Missouri Department of Transportation; Rich Tiemeyer, Chief Counsel for the Commission; and Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, were present on Wednesday, May 21, 2014.

"Department" or "MoDOT" herein refers to Missouri Department of Transportation. "Commission" or "MHTC" herein refers to Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

## -- CLOSED MEETING --

## VOTE TO CLOSE MEETING

The agenda of the closed meeting was posted in keeping with Sections 610.020 and 610.022,

RSMo, including the following statutory citations allowing the meeting to be closed:

- 1. Section 610.021(1) Legal actions and attorney-client privileged communications.
- 2. Section 610.021(2) Lease, purchase, or sale of real estate.
- 3. Section 610.021(3) (13) Personnel administration regarding particular employees.

Upon motion duly made and seconded to convene in closed session, the Chairman called for a

voice vote of the members. The vote was as follows:

Commissioner Miller, Aye Commissioner Carmichael, Aye Commissioner Suelthaus, Aye Commissioner Smith, Aye

The Commission met in closed session on Wednesday, May 21, 2014 from 5:00 p.m. until

6:30 p.m.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

By unanimous consensus of all members present, the meeting of the Commission adjourned.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

## The Mission of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is to:

- Represent the citizens of Missouri pursuant to the Constitution by providing independent and nonpartisan governance of the Missouri Department of Transportation; and
- Establish policies, exercise oversight, and ensure accountability in developing and maintaining a world class transportation system in Missouri which fosters safety and economic development.