

MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

**Official Minutes** 

**TABLE OF CONTENTS** 

March 25, 2015

DTE TO CLOSE MEETING	4

## **COMMISSION/DIRECTOR ITEMS**

Michael T. Waters, Jr. Qualified as a Member of the Missouri Highways and Transportation
Commission
Commission Reorganization

## MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 25, 2015

A special meeting of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission was held via teleconference on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. Stephen R. Miller, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. The following Commissioners were present by teleconference: Chairman Stephen R. Miller, Vice-Chairman Lloyd J. Carmichael, Gregg C. Smith, Michael B. Pace, and Michael T. Waters, Jr.

On February 1, 2015, Commissioner Bryan T. Scott resigned; at the time of the March 25, 2015 meeting, a replacement had not been appointed.

The meeting was called pursuant to Section 226.120 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The Secretary verified that notice of the meeting was posted in keeping with Section 610.020 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

Rich Tiemeyer, Chief Counsel for the Commission; and Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, were present on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. Dave Nichols, Director of the Missouri Department of Transportation, was excused.

"Department" or "MoDOT" herein refers to Missouri Department of Transportation. "Commission" or "MHTC" herein refers to Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

## -- CLOSED MEETING --

## VOTE TO CLOSE MEETING

The agenda of the closed meeting was posted in keeping with Sections 610.020 and 610.022,

RSMo, including the following statutory citations allowing the meeting to be closed:

- 1. Section 610.021(1) Legal actions and attorney-client privileged communications.
- 2. Section 610.021(11), (12) Competitive bidding specifications, sealed bids, or negotiated contracts.

Upon motion duly made and seconded to convene in closed session, the Chairman called for a

voice vote of the members. The vote was as follows:

Commissioner Miller, Aye Commissioner Carmichael, Aye Commissioner Smith, Aye Commissioner Pace, Aye Commissioner Waters, Aye

The Commission met in closed session on Wednesday, March 25, 2015 from 4:15 p.m. until

5:00 p.m.

#### -- OPEN MEETING --

# MICHAEL T. WATERS, JR. QUALIFIED AS A MEMBER OF THE MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

On March 3, 2015, Governor Jeremiah (Jay) Nixon appointed Michael T. Waters, Jr. of Orrick to the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission for a term ending March 1, 2021, or until his successor is duly appointed and qualified. Mr. Waters is seated in the position held by Commissioner Kenneth H. Suelthaus whose appointment expired on March 1, 2015. Mr. Waters was confirmed by the Senate on March 19, 2015.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

#### COMMISSION REORGANIZATION

Audit Committee – In keeping with the Commission's policy regarding the Audit Committee, members of the committee are appointed by the Commission Chairman and the Audit Committee Chairman is appointed by the Commission Chairman. One of the three Commission-held positions on the committee is vacant due to the expiration of Kenneth Suelthaus' term on the Commission.

Commissioner Miller appointed Commissioner Pace to serve on the Audit Committee and also as Chairman of the Audit Committee. Commissioners Carmichael and Smith will continue to serve on the Audit Committee.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

By unanimous consensus of all members present, the meeting of the Commission adjourned.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

# The Mission of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is to:

- Represent the citizens of Missouri pursuant to the Constitution by providing independent and nonpartisan governance of the Missouri Department of Transportation; and
- Establish policies, exercise oversight, and ensure accountability in developing and maintaining a world class transportation system in Missouri which fosters safety and economic development.