

MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Official Minutes

TABLE OF CONTENTS

December 5, 2016

COMMISSION/DIRECTOR ITEMS	
Edward D. Hillhouse Qualified as a Member of the Missouri Highways and Transportation	
Commission	. 4
VOTE TO CLOSE MEETING	. 4

MINUTES OF THE HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEETING HELD IN SCOTT CITY, MISSOURI, MONDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2016

A meeting of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission was held on Monday, December 5, 2016, at Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority, 10 Bill Bess Drive, Scott City, Missouri. Gregg C. Smith, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. The following Commissioners were present: Michael B. Pace, Michael T. Waters, Jr., Mary E. Nelson, John W. Briscoe, and Edward D. Hillhouse.

The meeting was called pursuant to Section 226.120 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended. The Secretary verified that notice of the meeting was posted in keeping with Section 610.020 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri, as amended.

* * * * * * *

* * * * * * *

Patrick McKenna, Director of the Missouri Department of Transportation; Rich Tiemeyer, Chief Counsel for the Commission; and Pamela J. Harlan, Secretary to the Commission, were present on Monday, December 5, 2016.

* * * * * * *

"Department" or "MoDOT" herein refers to Missouri Department of Transportation.

"Commission" or "MHTC" herein refers to Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission.

-- OPEN MEETING -

EDWARD D. HILLHOUSE QUALIFIED AS A MEMBER OF THE MISSOURI HIGHWAYS AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

On December 2, 2016, Governor Jay Nixon announced the appointment of Edward D. Hillhouse of Villa Ridge, to the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission for a term ending March 1, 2017, or until his successor is duly appointed and qualified. Mr. Hillhouse will take the position held by Vice Chair Stephen R. Miller, who resigned from the Commission on July 1, 2016, and whose term expired on March 1, 2011. Mr. Hillhouse was duly sworn on December 5, 2016 in Cape Girardeau by the Honorable Scott A. Lipke, Associate Circuit Judge of the Cape Girardeau County Circuit Court.

* * * * * * *

-- CLOSED MEETING --

VOTE TO CLOSE MEETING

The agenda of the closed meeting was posted in keeping with Sections 610.020 and 610.022, RSMo, including the following statutory citations allowing the meeting to be closed:

1. Section 610.021(1) – Legal actions and attorney-client privileged communications.

Upon motion duly made and seconded to convene in closed session, the Chairman called for a voice vote of the members. The vote was as follows:

Commissioner Smith, Aye Commissioner Pace, Aye Commissioner Waters, Aye Commissioner Nelson, Aye Commissioner Briscoe, Aye Commissioner Hillhouse, Aye

The Commission met in closed session on Monday, December 5, 2016 from 2:00 p.m. until 5:00 p.m.

By unanimous consensus of all members present, the meeting of the Commission adjourned.

* * * * * * *

The Mission of the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission is to:

- Represent the citizens of Missouri pursuant to the Constitution by providing independent and nonpartisan governance of the Missouri Department of Transportation; and
- Establish policies, exercise oversight, and ensure accountability in developing and maintaining a world class transportation system in Missouri which fosters safety and economic development.

* * * * * * *