| |

Springfield Area News Releases

Springfield District Office 417-895-7600

April 28, 2009 12:00 AM
Sunshine Street CLOSED Friday Night-Monday Morning, May 1-3
Between Oak Grove & Lone Pine for Railroad Crossing Repairs

MoDOT, District 8, Springfield -- The railroad crossing on Sunshine Street (Greene County Route D) between Oak Grove and Lone Pine avenues in Springfield will be CLOSED to traffic during the weekend of May 1-3, the Missouri Department of Transporation said.

Burlington Northern-Santa Fe crews will tear out the existing crossing and make significant repairs to smooth the ride over the tracks.

Drivers WILL have access to businesses along Sunshine Street near the tracks.

Sunshine Street will be closed to traffic at the tracks at 7 p.m. Friday, May 1, and reopened by 6 a.m. Monday, May 3. However, railroad officials believe the crossing may be reopened by late Sunday afternoon or Sunday evening.

Traffic will be detoured onto city streets around the crossing and on state routes, including Route 65, Route 60 (James River Freeway) and Chestnut Expressway.

Large changing message boards and fixed detour signs will guide drivers around the closing.

Drivers are urged to use caution as they approach the tracks and be prepared to slow down, merge into one lane and turn onto other streets for a detour around the closing.

Drivers are asked to drive carefully and courteously through residential areas where detours will be marked on city streets.

District Map
Southwest District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
Ozarks Traffic
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Report a Road Concern
Media Inquiries
Your Local Area Engineer
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Bates Vernon Barton Jasper Newton McDonald Barry Stone Taney Lawrence Dade Cedar St. Clair Henry Christian Greene Polk Hickory Benton Dallas Webster Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast iTunes Android Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram Blog YouTube RSS Facebook Twitter Flickr Google+ Blogspot YouTube RSS Feed