| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Bridge Competition

Bridge Competition

MoDOT Tests Bridges, Names Winners of the 14th Annual Bridge Building Competition

Ste. Genevieve, Oak Ridge and Chaffee High Schools Take Top Three

SIKESTON—After weeks of work to build the most efficient model bridges, Southeast Missouri high school students put their bridges to the test Nov. 16 at the completion of MoDOT’s 14th Annual Bridge Building Competition. The competition challenges high school juniors and seniors to design and construct the most efficient model bridge using limited materials—15 pieces of balsa wood, thread and glue.

Ste. Genevieve, Oak Ridge and Chaffee High Schools received first, second and third place for best overall performance, respectively. These schools received cash prizes donated by the SE Chapter Transportation Employee Association of Missouri.

In addition, five students were recognized for building the lightest bridges that carried the greatest loads. Winners included:

  • 1st – Jacob Thomure – Ste. Genevieve
  • 2nd – Taylor Bolin – Oak Ridge
  • 3rd – Jordan Weibrecht – Ste. Genevieve
  • 4th – Conner Bock – Oak Ridge
  • 5th – Trenton Gramlisch – Chaffee

Other awards included the most aesthetic bridge presented to Morgan Merrill of Sikeston High School and the computer-based electronic bridge award presented to Fadel Alkilani of Sikeston High School.

Prize donations and supply sponsorships have been made possible by the following organizations: SE Chapter Transportation Employee Association of Missouri, Southeast Missouri State University, Three Rivers Community College, Cape Area Engineers Club, Southeast Physics & Engineering Club, Southeast Chapter of the Missouri Society of Professional Engineers and the Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety. 

MoDOT also partnered with Arkansas State University, Southeast Missouri State University, Missouri University of Science and Technology, University of Missouri-Columbia and Southern Illinois University to offer seniors interested in civil engineering up to $10,000 in scholarships.

The Missouri State Highway Patrol and the Southeast Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety attended the competition to discuss the importance of buckling-up with the Seat Belt Convincer, which simulates how it feels to be in a traffic crash.

For more information, please contact Senior Highway Designer Anita Clark at (573) 472-5294, Senior Highway Designer Gretchen Hanks at (573) 472-5294 or MoDOT's Customer Service Center toll-free at 1-888 ASK MODOT (275-6636). Photos from the competition are available at www.flickr.com/photos/modot_se/albums/72157689704949305.



Bridge Comp Photos

Past Competitions

District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android