| |
Southeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Local News Releases

For more information about Southeast District Safe & Sound bridges, please contact Project Manager Andy Meyer at (573) 472-5296.

May 22, 2009 12:00 AM
Commission Announces Design-Build Team for Safe & Sound Bridge Improvement Program
Final Program Includes 68 Bridges in the Southeast District

SIKESTON -Missourians are well on their way to driving across 802 new bridges by Oct. 31, 2014.  In a special meeting yesterday, the Missouri Highways and Transportation Commission selected KTU Constructors to replace 554 bridges across the state in the next four years through a design-build contract.  Sixty-eight of these design-build bridges are in the Southeast District. 

            KTU's proposal, to build all 554 new bridges by the end of 2013 at a cost of $487 million, was deemed by the Commission to be the ‘best-value.'

The KTU Constructors team is led by Kiewit Western Company, Traylor Bros., Inc., United Contractors, Inc., HNTB Corporation and The LPA Group, Inc. They will be responsible for design, construction, project management and public outreach for all 554 bridge projects, and will be joined by a host of Missouri-based subcontractors and material suppliers.

            Besides looking for the most economical project delivery, speed of construction and flexibility in construction schedules to respond to local issues were also critical components of MoDOT's program requirements.

            Within the next few weeks, MoDOT and KTU will negotiate the final design-build contract, and work is expected to begin on some of the statewide replacement projects later this summer.

Once work begins on many of the bridges in the Southeast District, road closures will be necessary.  For bridges on low-volume routes, the contract requires the average closure be 45 days.  However, on divided highways and in high-traffic areas, work will be staged to reduce the impact on traffic. 

The final design-build portion of the Safe & Sound program includes bridges in the following locations throughout the Southeast District:

1. Bollinger County: Route V Drainage Ditch #101

2. Butler County: Route OO Inter-River Drainage District Ditch #1

3. Butler County: Route AA Drainage Ditch #10

4. Cape Girardeau County: Route 61 Ramsey Creek

5. Cape Girardeau County: Route 61 Buckeye Creek

6. & 7.  Cape Girardeau County: Route 34 Whitewater River (two bridges included)

8. Cape Girardeau County: Route 34 Byrd Creek

9. Cape Girardeau County: Route V Indian Creek

10. Cape Girardeau County: Route EE Drainage Ditch #1

11. Cape Girardeau County: Route A Bean Branch Creek near County Road 233

12. Cape Girardeau County: Route U Allen Creek

13. Dunklin County: Route F Drainage Ditch #25

14. Dunklin County: Route P Honey Cypress Ditch

15. Dunklin County: Route P Kinnamore Ditch

16. Madison County: Route 72/Route 67, interchange bridge

17. Madison County: Route E Matthes Creek

18. Madison County: Route E Cedar Creek

19. Mississippi County: Route J Dredge Ditch #23

20. Mississippi County: Route OO Drainage Ditch #29

21. Mississippi County: Route K Stevensons Bayou

22. Mississippi County: Route AA Drainage Ditch #29

23. Mississippi County: Route CC Ash Slu Ditch

24. Mississippi County: Route JJ Government Diversion Ditch

25. New Madrid County: Route 60 BNSF Railroad

26. New Madrid County: Route F Drainage Ditch #18

27. New Madrid County: Route 62 Drainage Ditch #41

28. New Madrid County: Route 153 Drainage Ditch #7

29. Pemiscot County: Route P Lateral Ditch # 26

30. Pemiscot County: Route 153 Drainage Ditch #85

31. Perry County: Route 61 Apple Creek

32. Scott County: Route H/Interstate 55, overpass

33. Scott County: Route 77 Caney Creek

34. Scott County: Route DD Little River Ditch # 36

35. Scott County: Route W Drainage Ditch #1

36. Scott County: Route W Drainage Ditch #291

37. Scott County: Route W Main Ditch, District 3

38. Scott County: Route EE Little River Ditch # 11

39. Scott County: Route EE Little River Ditch #1

40. Scott County: Route P Whitewater River

41. Scott County: Route 91 Drainage Ditch # 1

42. Scott County: Route Z Drainage Ditch # 4, District 1

43. Scott County: Route Z Drainage Ditch # 2, District 1

44. Scott County: Route ZZ Drainage Ditch #2, District 1

45. Ste. Genevieve County: Route D Salem Creek

46. Stoddard County: Route 60 Union Pacific Railroad

47. & 48. Stoddard County: Route 114 Drainage Ditches (two bridges included)

49. Stoddard County: Route 60 Drainage Ditch #37

50. Stoddard County: Route 60 Lateral Ditch #2

51. Stoddard County: Route 60 Lick Creek Drainage Ditch

52. Stoddard County: Route 60 Drainage Ditch, District 12

53. & 54. Stoddard County: Route BB Little River Ditch #11 (two bridges included)

55. Stoddard County: Route BB Castor River

56. Stoddard County: Route K Wolf Creek

57. Stoddard County: Route HH Drainage Ditch #41

58. Stoddard County: Route HH Little River Drainage Ditch

59. Stoddard County: Route PP Goose Pond Ditch

60. Stoddard County: Route 91 Little River

61. Stoddard County: Route P Drainage Ditch #33

62. Stoddard County: Route E Buck Creek Branch

63. Stoddard County: Route E Drainage Ditch District #4

64. Stoddard County: Route PP Road Side Ditch near Goose Pond Ditch

65. Stoddard County: Route Y Drainage Ditch #33

66. Stoddard County: Route Y Drainage Ditch #1

67. Stoddard County: Route Y Little River

68. Wayne County: Route P Gribler Creek

To view MoDOT's complete list of design-build bridges or for more information about the other 248 Safe & Sound bridges, please visit www.modot.org/safeandsound.  An interactive map utilizes color-coded icons to identify each bridge location and illustrate its schedule milestones. The site also gives other details about each bridge, including suggested detour routes.

For more information about Southeast District Safe & Sound bridges, please contact Project Manager Andy Meyer at (573) 472-5296.



District Map
Southeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Wright Douglas Ozark Texas Howell Shannon Oregon Reynolds Carter Ripley Iron Dunklin Pemiscot New Madrid Butler St. Francois Ste. Genevieve Perry Madison Wayne Stoddard Scott Mississippi Bollinger Cape Girardeau Northwest Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis Northeast IPhone Android