November 19, 2015

Central Office

Kansas City
St. Louis

Print Page
Print Entire Edition
Southeast District

Welcome Christine and Jon to the
Southeast Team

Christine Owens
Christine Owens, Human Resources Manager
Jon Medlin
Jon Medlin, Information Systems Manager

This week, the Southeast District welcomed two new management team members—Christine Owens, SE Human Resources Manager and Jon Medlin, SE Information Systems Manager. Both Christine and Jon expressed excitement about meeting the SE District’s team and wanted to share a bit about themselves!

Christine Owens, Human Resources Manager:

  • Where are you from? Jackson, Missouri
  • What is your background? I have a 9-year-old daughter, Kathryn. I grew up in Saudi Arabia from the fourth to the ninth grade. I came back to the United States to go to high school. I graduated from Jackson High School.
  • What are your hobbies? I used to enjoy shooting pool/billiards. But now, my free time is spent with my daughter.
  • What is your favorite sports team? My alma mater—University of Wyoming Cowboys.
  • What is your favorite song? I favor country music. Kenny Chesney, Shania Twain, George Straight, Reba McEntire and Luke Bryan.
  • Where did you work prior to MoDOT? Lowes.
  • What are you most looking forward to in your position? I’m most looking forward to new challenges that this position brings. I want to meet the employees and help them. I have a retail background, so I also look forward to working with new people.  
  • What are three things you’d take if you were stuck on a deserted island? A limitless supply of water, a significant other and my daughter.
  • Would you rather be a giant hamster or tiny elephant? I would rather be a tiny elephant. They are less conspicuous, and giant hamsters would be ugly.

 Jon Medlin, Information Systems Manager:

  • Where are you from? Wardell, Missouri
  • What is your background? I’m single, no kids and one dog, Rambo. Rambo is a German Shepard.
  • What are your hobbies? I enjoy shooting. In my time off, I enjoy tactical training. I enjoy Krav Maga training and martial arts. I am also a classically trained baritone and tried out for The Voice last year.
  • What is your favorite sports team? When they are winning, I like the St. Louis Rams. I like the St. Louis Cardinals also.
  • What is your favorite song? Desperado by the Eagles.
  • Where did you work prior to MoDOT? Banking Industry.
  • What are you most looking forward to in your position as the Information System Manager? I’m looking forward to the opportunity to start a new chapter in my career.
  • What are three things you’d take if you were stuck on a deserted island? A satellite phone, Sig Sauer P226 and survival knife.
  • Would you rather be a giant hamster or tiny elephant? I’d rather be a giant hamster, so I can make a lot of money off the Kia commercials and dance.

If you are coming to the SE District Office and haven’t had the opportunity to meet Christine and Jon yet, please feel free to drop by HR and IS to say hello!


MoDOT to Help Grant Christmas Wishes to Area Families

Chili Event Scheduled Dec. 3, Chili Order Deadline Dec. 1

Christmas Angels 2014
Senior Right of Way Specialist Jason McKee volunteered to help deliver chili to the generous businesses and individuals who participated in the Christmas Angels program in 2014. Click the image above to view more photos of MoDOT's volunteers.

For over 25 years, MoDOT employees have helped grant Christmas wishes to Southeast Missouri families through the Christmas Angels program.

"The program began decades ago with a crock pot of chili and the desire to help at least one child," said Transportation Project Designer Jeff Wachter. "With the help of area businesses, organizations and generous individuals, the program has grown. Last year, the event raised nearly $5,500-helping over 100 children."

This year's event will be held Thursday, Dec. 3, with chili orders due by 4 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 1. The cost is $4 and will include a 16-ounce cup of chili, crackers and chips. Current MoDOT employees and retirees volunteer to cook, pack and deliver chili for the event. With the funds raised, volunteers purchase gifts for children who would not otherwise receive gifts.

Volunteers work with the Department of Family Services to identify needy children in the area.

"The program has grown locally, and many businesses and organizations purchase chili for their employees," said Transportation Project Designer Jeff Wachter. "Participants receive a hot lunch and help needy families at the same time."

To place an order, please email or call (573) 450-9045. Please include your name, address, phone number and requested time of delivery with your order. Orders of six or more in the Sikeston area can be delivered. The deadline to order is 4 p.m., Tuesday, Dec. 1.

Businesses or individuals wishing to donate to the Christmas Angels program may send or drop their donations by the Division 10 Highway Employees' Credit Union Office, located at 337 North Main Street in Sikeston, Mo. Checks can be made out to the Christmas Angels.

For more information about the Christmas Angels program, contact Wachter at (573) 472-5294 or (573) 450-9045.

Thank You for Your Dedication and Service

The Southeast District recently honored employees with five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service. Please join us in thanking them for their dedicated years of service and commitment to serving Missourians.

Additional photos are available at:

5 Year   10 Year


Front: Monnie Jones, Jerry Haney, Richard Kelley, Jr. Back: Fred Wims, Jr. Harley Chapman, Corey Pettus.



Front: Tim Acord, Terry Murray, Justin Adey, Sheryl Wunderlich. Second: Benji Philpot, Earl Swift, Oscar Smith, Anthony Bennett, Brad Koch. Third: Michael Reeder, Charles Wilson, Donald Terbrak, Marvin Adams.

Back: Guy Pagel, David Peyton, Ricky Crabb, James Freeze, Corey Menz.

15 Year   20 year


Front: Ronald Varvera, Michael Brandon, Cindy Ressel, Elgin Bogan, Chris Barnfield, Tony Dawson. Second: Anthony Nichols, Timothy Crader, Pam Masterson, Jeff Leible, Jason Estes, James Leach, Jerry Yarber, James Bradford. Third: Michael Schwendemann, Nathan Orf, Ryan Miller, Kerry Grogan, John King, Jodi Mills, Jeffrey Allen, Tommy Brown, Dennis Brown. Fourth: Terry Sanders, Norman Clark, Jr., Mark Aufdenberg, Scott Bronenkant, Rodney Aldridge, Robert Creamer, Jerry Lewis, Jonathan Kemper, Duane Fish, Douglas Inman, Paul Kenna.



Front: Andrew Meyer, Thomas Moore, Connie Robinson, Tammy Hefner, Pamela Racer, Shawn Lalumondiere. Back: Darren Thurston, Audie Pulliam, Brad Cook, Tommie Chitwood, Kendall Freeman, Jeffrey Payne, Brent Grandstaff, Eric Krapf, Pete Berry.

25 Year   30 Year


Front: David Blythe, Jesse Earls, Christopher Brock, Thomas Rutledge, Lynn Lewis. Back: Paul Bollinger, Joe Jones, Ronald King, Jeffrey Mabury, Joe Crader.



Front: Lonnie Chambers, Sherry Glastetter, Pam Griffin, David Herbst. Back: Lindell Huskey, Mark Shelton, Marvin Gillespie, Allen Friedrich.


For more info

Nicole Thieret
Communications Manager
Southeast District

To view or print other pages, click on the links below:
Home Central Office Northwest District Northeast District
Kansas City District Central District St. Louis District Southwest District Southeast District

Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr