| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

Freight Railroads

There are a total of 19 railroads in the state. They are broken down in the following manner: 4 Class I’s, which are large national railroads, 2 Regionals, which only operate in two or three states, 2 Terminal Railroads, which are based in large metropolitan areas, 6 Shortlines, which are regional railroads inside state lines, 3 Tourists, which are short trip railroads which only haul passengers for less than a day excursions, and 1 Amtrak, which is the national inter-city railroad passenger system. Those railroads are:


Freight Railroad
  • AM Arkansas and Missouri Railroad Company
  • BGKX Belton-Grandview Railway
  • BSR Branson Scenic Railway
  • BNSF BNSF Railway Company
  • CMR Central Midland Railway Company
  • CBRM Chillicothe-Brunswick Rail Maintenance Authority/MO North Central RR
  • COLT Columbia Terminal Railroad Company
  • DM&E Dakota, Minnesota & Eastern Railroad Corporation
  • KCS Kansas City Southern Railway Company
  • KCT Kansas City Terminal Railway Company
  • MRS Manufacturers’ Railway Company
  • MNA Missouri & Northern Arkansas Railroad Company
  • MVP Missouri Valley Park Switching Service
  • NS Norfolk Southern Railway Company
  • SLIM St. Louis Iron Mountain Railroad
  • SE SEMO Port Railroad, Inc.
  • TRRA Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis
  • UP Union Pacific Railroad Company


About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook