| |
Northeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS
District Map
Northeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Moving Forward
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast


For more information, contact Larry Craig, 573-248-8800

July 31, 2017 02:32 PM
US 36/I-72 Corridor TDD Announces Termination of 1/2 Cent Sales Tax
Macon, Marion, Monroe, Shelby County Residents Pay Off US 36 Loan

HANNIBAL - The U.S. Highway 36 – Interstate 72 Corridor Transportation Development District announces the termination of its half-cent sales tax, effective August 1, 2017.  The District’s sales tax was established on January 1, 2006 for a period of up to 15 years to support paying for a 52 mile expansion project of U.S. Highway 36 from eight miles west of Hannibal to Macon, MO.  The District’s Board of Directors authorized the repeal of the sales tax at a special meeting held March 16, 2017, in Shelbina, MO.

“On behalf of the District’s Board of Directors and everyone else that has been involved in this 52 mile project, we are thrilled that we can repeal this sales tax some three and a half years early.   We want to thank the voters of the four-county district for supporting this safety project and having the faith in the Board to complete this project on time and ahead of schedule” said Larry B. Craig, Executive Director of the District. 

The U.S. Highway 36 – Interstate 72 Corridor Transportation Development District would not have been able to accomplish this project without the outstanding support of the Missouri Highway and Transportation Commission, MoDOT Headquarters, and especially the outstanding team of the Northeast District, Mo DOT and the leadership of Kirk Juranas, former Northeast District Engineer, and Paula Gough the current Northeast District Engineer.  The U.S. Highway 36 – Interstate 72 Corridor Transportation Development District wants thank everyone that had a part in this project including the support, trust and confidence of the voters in this project.

Craig continued, “Furthermore, it is my pleasure to announce on behalf of the District that as of July 27th, 2017 the District has made its final two installments totaling over $6.5M to complete our financial obligation to the Missouri Transportation Finance Corporation’s loan of $34,299,339.63 in support of this project.  We always said from the beginning that when we had enough funds to pay back our loan and to meet our obligations, we would repeal the tax and abolish the District. The action taken by the District’s Board of Directors at its March 16th meeting is a fulfillment of that promise.”

By taking this action, the Board of Directors is terminating the sales tax nearly three and a half years earlier than the 15-year period approved by the voters.

It is anticipated that the District will repay the Missouri Transportation Finance Corporation loan before the end of 2017.  Thereafter, the District’s Board of Directors will seek voter approval to abolish the District, which the District expects could occur in 2018.

From this point on the District will be focused on the steps necessary complete the abolishment for the TDD by June 30, 2018.  This includes a statutory requirement of a State Auditor review of the District’s financial records.  Once that report is received, the District will be petitioning the 10th Circuit Court in Marion County  for an order for submittal of general election for abolishment question with the four County Clerks of the District for the April 3, 2018 Municipal Election cycle by January 15, 2018. 

Following certification of the stated election a final Board meeting will be scheduled to accept the election results, accept the final audit, approve all final administrative cost, and adopt a resolution of final actions for disposition of funds.  The final act will be to distribute certified copies of the resolution of final actions to Mo DOR, MEC, State Auditor, County Commissions of Macon, Marion, Monroe and Shelby Counties, and disbursement of final funds; and record resolutions of final actions with the recorder of deeds in the four county District.

Cutline for attached photo:  Larry Craig presents MoDOT the paperwork to confirm its final payment.  Pictured are:  (l - r) Kevin James, MoDOT Northeast District Engineer; Roberta Broeker, MoDOT Chief Financial Officer; Craig; Tom Boland, and Lyndon Bode, who served as secretary for the U.S. 36 TDD Board of Directors.

Links to related information:

Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Schuyler Adair Macon Randolph Scotland Clark Knox Lewis Shelby Marion Monroe Audrain Montgomery Warren Ralls Pike Lincoln iTunes Android