| |
Northeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS
District Map
Northeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Moving Forward
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast


For further information please call Teri Zeiger at 573-248-2490.

October 28, 2011 01:04 PM
Commuters Can Use the New Highway 79 Monday Morning
Road to Open Sunday Morning

HANNIBAL - On Sunday morning, October 30, MoDOT will reopen MO 79 near Ashburn, south of Hannibal and north of Louisiana.  The road closed in November 2009 after the highway gave way to a landslide.  After much public involvement, MoDOT determined the best course of action was to relocate the road to the Salt River Bottoms.  "It's still a beautiful drive, especially this time of year, and we truly appreciate the patience and extra effort of the people in the area who normally use this road," said MoDOT Area Engineer Brian Haeffner.

The project cost almost $3 million and was funded by postponing two bridge replacement projects on Highway 79 between Elsberry and Foley.  Those are slated to be replaced within the next few years.

The ribbon cutting ceremony for the new MO 79 was held on Thursday, October 20 at sunset.  "Logistically, we have to choose a date for an event like this because of the dignitary involvement, plus it gives people an opportunity to see the new highway before it opens," Haeffner explained.

Pictures of the ribbon cutting ceremony, along with pictures of construction and the landslide, are all online at www.modot.org/northeast.

Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Schuyler Adair Macon Randolph Scotland Clark Knox Lewis Shelby Marion Monroe Audrain Montgomery Warren Ralls Pike Lincoln iTunes Android