July 24, 2014

Central Office

Kansas City
St. Louis

Print Page
Print Entire Edition
Northeast District

Certified to Help Save Lives

CPS Tech Class
Nine people from northeast Missouri became certified child passenger safety technicians last week after training in Kirksville.

Last week the Northeast Coalition for Roadway Safety sponsored a child passenger seat technician class at the Kirksville Fire Department. Through this class, nine individuals from various counties around the district, became certified CPS technicians. Kathy Zents and Joe Schilling, certified trainers, were the instructors.

"This course entails so much more than simply installing child safety seats," Zents explained. "Participants learned about topics ranging from motor vehicle laws, crash dynamics and vehicle safety, to talking to parents about safety," she added.

They also participated in hands on demonstrations throughout the class.

A child seat check event was held at the conclusion of the class, and several area families came in to have their child seats checked.

Around the District...

Safety Town at Macon Vo-Tech   Just Drive Safety Event
Safety Town was held at Macon Vo-Tech school. Pictured above is Tim Conover, from Macon maintenance, and Kevin Rhodes (as Buckles), a Northeast Coalition outreach coordinator, presenting safety information to the kids.
  KTVO, along with the other sponsors of the Just Drive campaign, held a Safety Day on July 21 in Kirksville. The MSHP was present with the seat belt convincer. Child safety seat demonstrations were given, and hot dogs and soda were provided.  Pictured here is an individual trying out the fatal vision goggles.
New Motorgrader at Macon Maintenance

Barge Stuck Under RR Bridge

Barge vs. Bridge...Who Wins?  A barge broke loose and became stuck under the railroad bridge just south of Champ Clark Bridge in Pike County.

Macon Maintenance received a new motor grader. Pictured here are employees getting the run down on the new equipment.  

For more info

Marisa Brown-Ellison
Customer Relations Manager
Northeast District


Our mission is to provide a world-class transportation experience that delights our customers and promotes a prosperous Missouri.
To view or print other pages, click on the links below:
Home Central Office Northwest Northeast
Kansas City District Central District St. Louis District Southwest District Southeast District

Facebook Twitter Blog YouTube Flickr