| |
Northeast District Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS
District Map
Northeast District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Moving Forward
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast

Bridges in Northeast Missouri

Total Number of Bridges - 10,405

Number of Major Bridges - 212

Number of Bridges on Major Rivers - 53

facebook twitter you tube picasa eupdate


Louisiana, Missouri - The Champ Clark Bridge is a five-span truss bridge over the Mississippi River connecting Louisiana, Missouri with the state of Illinois; it carries US Route 54 northeast to Pittsfield, Illinois where US Route 54 ends.

The bridge, built in 1928, is a narrow two-lane bridge on a 20-foot deck.  The bridge, originally painted silver, was repainted deep green in 1983, and repaired in 1999.  In 2005, MoDOT rehabilitated and painted the bridge, replacing the green with gray.  The bridge is 2,238.4 feet in length and the span over the main channel of the Mississippi River is 418.5 feet in length.

The bridge is named after James Beauchamp Clark, a former Speaker of the House from Bowling Green, Missouri.  Clark served as Speaker from 1911 to 1919.

Learn more at the Champ Clark Bridge Website. champ clark logo



Hannibal, Missouri - The Mark Twain Memorial Bridge is over the Mississippi River at Hannibal, Missouri, which is the childhood home of Mark Twain, for whom the bridge is named. The current four-lane bridge opened to traffic on September 16, 2000.  The bridge currently carries traffic for Interstate 72 and US Route 36.

The four-lane bridge 86 feet wide, 4,491 feet in length and is maintained by MODOT.  The cost of the bridge is $55 million.



West Quincy, Missouri - The Quincy Memorial Bridge is a truss bridge over the Mississippi River in Quincy, Illinois.  It brings eastbound US Highway 24 traffic from Missouri into the city of Quincy.  It was built in 1928 and remains structurally sound.  The two eastbound lanes are 27 feet wide, vertical clearance of 14 feet 3 inches and the bridge is 3,510 feet in length and is maintained by the Illinois Department of Transportation.

In 1986, to serve additional traffic volumes crossing the Mississippi River into Quincy, the Illinois Department of Transportation constructed the Bayview Bridge just to the north of the Memorial Bridge. Westbound traffic was then routed onto the Bayview Bridge, while eastbound traffic was routed onto the Memorial Bridge.

Bayview Bridge


West Quincy, Missouri - The Bayview Bridge is a cable-stayed bridge bringing two-lanes of westbound Highway 24 over the Mississippi River from Quincy, Illinois to West Quincy, Missouri.  Eastbound Highway 24 is served by the older Quincy Memorial Bridge pictured above.  The bridge is 4,507 feet in length and 27 feet wide. 

The bridge was built at a cost of $32 million, the bridge alleviates traffic over the downstream Memorial Bridge.  It was built prior to the extension of Interstate 72 west into Hannibal, Missouri at the Mark Twain Memorial Bridge.

The bridge opened to traffic in August 1987 and is maintained by the Illinois Department of Transportation.



Alexandria, Missouri - The first Des Moines River Bridge crossing is a two lane bridge across the Des Moines River in the extreme southeast corner of Iowa near where the Des Moines River meets with the Mississippi River.  The bridge currently carries traffic for Route 61 and 136 at Alexandria into Iowa near Keokuk and is maintained by the Iowa Department of Transportation.



St. Francisville, Missouri - The second Des Moines River crossing on Route 27 is actually two bridges crossing the Des Moines River at St. Francisville, one carrying the two northbound lanes and one carrying the two southbound lanes, they opened on December 8, 2004.  The bridges replaced an existing toll bridge operated by the Wayland Special Road District.  Route 27 crosses at the short portion (20 miles) of Iowa's border with Missouri in Lee County. The Avenue of the Saints passes over this section.

The cost of the bridge is $7.7 million and was split between MoDOT and IDOT.  MoDOT maintains the bridge.

Old Toll Bridge in foreground (owned by Clark County Special Road District), New bridge in background.

Trans Corp member

Christopher S. Bond Bridge at Hermann, MO

Hermann, Missouri - The Christopher S. Bond Bridge is a highway bridge crossing over the Missouri River at Hermann on Route 19, between Gasconade and Montgomery County.   The $34 million bridge was opened to vehicle traffic in July 2007, but was officially dedicated in October 2007; the bridge replaces the old bridge which built in 1930.  See bridge demolition.

The bridge is 2,247 feet in length. The total width of the bridge is 55 feet, 4 inches, consisting of two 12-foot driving lanes, two 10-foot shoulders, and an 8-foot bicycle/pedestrian lane.  The bridge is maintained by MoDOT.



Washington Bridge from the southwest bank


Washington, Missouri - The Highway 47 Bridge at Washington is a cantilevered truss bridge crossing over the Missouri River on Route 47 at Washington, Missouri, between Franklin and Warren County.  An environmental impact study is underway to determine impacts made on the environment should a new bridge be built.  There is no funding available to construct a new bridge.  Please visit the Route 47 Bridge at Washington web page for updates about the EIS.

The bridge was built in 1934.  Its main span is 474.6 feet and it is 2,561.3 feet in length and a deck width of 22 feet.  Its vertical clearance is 14.6 feet.  The bridge carries two lanes of traffic.  The bridge is maintained by MoDOT.

Read more about the Safe and Sound Bridge Program
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Schuyler Adair Macon Randolph Scotland Clark Knox Lewis Shelby Marion Monroe Audrain Montgomery Warren Ralls Pike Lincoln iTunes Android