| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release  

For more information, please call Marisa Ellison at 573-248-2502 or email marisa.ellison@modot.mo.gov.

June 15, 2018 01:34 PM
Zero Heroes Highway Safety Nominations Sought

JEFFERSON CITY - The Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety is accepting nominations for individuals, organizations and events to be recognized for efforts to promote safe driving.  Nomination forms are only online and available at www.savemolives.com until July 15, 2018. “The goal of our Coalition is to reduce fatalities on Missouri roads, and we know there are a lot of people in Missouri who contribute to the success we’ve had to lower the number,” said MoDOT Highway Safety and Traffic Engineer Nicole Hood. “This is an opportunity to recognize those who are helping to save lives by encouraging safe driving,” she said.  The Missouri Coalition for Roadway Safety has seven regions it serves including Northwest, Northeast, Kansas City, Central, St. Louis, Southwest and Southeast. There are five statewide awards and two awards for each of the seven Coalition regions. The statewide awards include:

  • the Lay Down the Law Award recognizing an individual or a group in law enforcement
  • the Tempe Humphrey Award recognizing an individual or group who have focused efforts on our younger drivers
  • the Arrive Alive Award recognizing an individual or group for their leadership and dedication to reducing fatalities
  • the “Show Me Safety” Award recognizing an individual or group for an event
  • the Safety-Neer (Engineering) Award:  recognizes an engineer(s)/team who has incorporated a unique or proven safety feature in a highway project that has resulted in reduced fatalities.

The regional awards include the Arrive Alive Award and the “Show-Me Safety” Award. Details about the awards can be found at www.savemolives.com, and the form is online and simple to complete. Nominations are due by July 15, and five individuals with an interest in transportation safety have been selected throughout the Midwest to judge the awards. Regional awards will be judged by the regional coalitions or independent judges they choose. The winners will be recognized at the 2018 Traffic Safety and Blueprint Conference in Columbia in September.  Award winners and those who nominate them will be notified in early August.


About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook