| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

Pam Hoelscher or Jackie Rogers at 573-751-4161 or 800-800-BELT

August 21, 2006 12:00 AM
New Booster Seat Law Goes Into Effect

JEFFERSON CITY - Missouri now has a booster seat law that will keep children safer when riding in a vehicle. The new law goes into effect on August 28, and will require children ages 4 through 7 to be in a booster seat. The fine for violating this law is $50 plus court costs.

"The use of booster seats lowers the risk of injury to children in crashes by 59 percent compared to the use of safety belts alone," said Leanna Depue, director of highway safety for the Missouri Department of Transportation. "Just a few more years in a booster seat can help prevent serious injury and may even save your child's life."

Missouri law will now require:

·  Children less than 4 years old or less than 40 pounds to be in an appropriate child safety seat.

·  Children ages 4 through 7 who weigh at least 40 pounds to be in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat unless they are 80 pounds or 4'9" tall.

·  Children 8 and over or weighing at least 80 pounds or at least 4'9" tall to be secured by a safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.

"Safety belts are designed for adults," said Depue. "As children grow, they should be secured in a child safety seat or booster seat until they are ready to graduate to a safety belt."

For more information contact the Missouri Department of Transportation's Highway Safety Division at 800-800-BELT (2358) or go to http://www.modot.org/.

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook