| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Instagram YouTube RSS

MoDOT News Release 

August 16, 2016 10:05 AM
You're Not the Only Person on the Road
Missouri law enforcement reminds motorists to Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.

JEFFERSON CITY – One decision can change everything. Each day, lives are drastically changed or lost in preventable traffic crashes caused by someone’s choice to drive while impaired. Drivers continue to choose to break the law by driving impaired, putting thousands of travelers at risk every day.

Holiday weekends bring a surge in impaired driving, so this year’s Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over high-visibility operation will run August 19 through the Labor Day holiday on September 5.

Driving impaired isn’t just about alcohol. A person could also be arrested for driving under the influence of illegal drugs such as cocaine, marijuana, other controlled substances or even prescription medication.

“Impaired driving continues to be a huge concern on Missouri roadways,” said Colonel Bret Johnson, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol. “We will continue our year-round efforts of enforcing Missouri's DWI laws and, through this campaign, create public awareness to the dangers substance-impaired driving causes on our highways. Our goal is for all drivers to get home safe every day."

Statewide, law enforcement made 389 DWI arrests, 26 DUI drug arrests and 13 drug influence arrests during this campaign in August and September of 2015. Many substance-impaired drivers are under the age of 21. From 2013-2015, there were 53 fatal crashes and 144 serious injury crashes involving a substance-impaired driver under the age of 21 in Missouri. There were 64 people killed and 202 seriously injured in these crashes.

Consider some of the consequences if you choose to drive impaired:

  • If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you can be charged with involuntary manslaughter – a felony resulting in up to seven years of prison time, a $5,000 fine or both.
  • Your license can be suspended for 90 days on your first conviction. You could be fined up to $500 and spend up to 6 months in jail.
  • A second conviction results in a yearlong revocation of your license. You could be fined up to $1,000 and spend up to one year in jail.
  • Any person guilty of a second or subsequent intoxication-related traffic offense will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car before reinstating driving privileges.
  • Minors may additionally be subject to a Minor in Possession citation resulting in license suspension for 90 days for first offense. This is in addition to any suspension resulting from point assessment on an alcohol conviction.
  • Insurance coverage will be difficult to find, and your rates will be significantly higher.
  • Violators often face jail time, the loss of their driver license, higher insurance rates and dozens of other expenses from attorney fees, other fines and court costs, car towing and repairs, lost time at work, etc.
  • There is the added embarrassment, humiliation and potential loss and consequence after informing family, friends and employers.
  • If you refuse a sobriety test, you can lose your license on the spot and have your car impounded.

We are all a part of thesolution. To learn more about substance-impaired driving and how you can Arrive Alive, visit saveMOlives.com, or follow social media at Save MO Lives, #DriveSoberMO.

###

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Driver's License Offices
horz_bar
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
 
 
 
 
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook