| |
Central District Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Local News Releases

October 18, 2010 12:00 AM
Ribbon Cutting Scheduled for Shared Four-Lane on Route 5 in Camden County

CAMDEN COUNTY - State and local officials will gather in Camden County on Tuesday, Oct. 26, 2010 to celebrate the completion of an innovative highway project on Route 5 in Camden and Laclede Counties.

The Missouri Department of Transportation will cut the ribbon for eight miles of "shared four-lane" highway, from just north of Route 7 in Camdenton to just south of the Laclede County line. A shared four-lane highway consists of alternating passing lanes along a conventional two-lane highway to provide motorists with periodic opportunities to pass other vehicles without having to drive in the opposing lane.

The ribbon cutting for the $20.4 million project will begin at 11 a.m. and is open to the public. The ceremony will be located on the new highway, just south of the interchange where new Route 5 meets old Route 5. The ceremony will be held rain or shine.

The entire shared four-lane project, including another 10 miles of Route 5 between the Laclede County line and Lebanon, is a new type of highway design in Missouri that will increase safety and traffic flow along the Route 5 corridor. Another $7.2 million phase to complete the Laclede County portion of the project is expected to be complete in early 2011.

Prime contractors for the Camden County portion of the shared four-lane highway are Dave Kolb Grading, Inc. of St. Charles, Mo. and Emery Sapp and Sons of Columbia, Mo.

Those who wish to attend should take Business Route 5 (old Route 5) to the new highway, and turn onto the southbound Route 5 entrance ramp.

For more information about this project, please log onto www.modot.org/central or call toll free 1-888-ASK-MoDOT (275-6636).

District Map
Central District
Traveler Information
Traveler Map
call, cell, mobile, phone iconText Alerts - Sign Up!
Quick Links
Your Local Area Engineer
Report a Road Concern
Your Local MoDOT
Get your local district information.
Districts Map
Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast
About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
Howard Boone Cooper Morgan Camden Laclede Pulaski Phelps Dent Moniteau Miller Cole Crawford Washington Maries Callaway Osage Gasconade Northwest Northeast Kansas City Southwest Southeast Central St. Louis iTunes Android