| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Impaired Driving Laws In Missouri 

In Missouri, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is illegal, and Missouri's DWI law states that a person commits the crime of driving while intoxicated if they operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, illegal drugs, and/or medication - regardless of his or her blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level. If your BAC level is .08 percent or above, you're deemed legally intoxicated. Chapters 302 and 577 of the Missouri Revised Statutes state it is a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle at or above .08 percent BAC. But you can also be convicted for DWI with BAC levels lower than .08 percent if an officer can determine your driving was impaired by alcohol, illegal drugs or medication.

Consequences

DWI is a criminal charge in Missouri. You won't just get a ticket - you can land in jail, lose your license and pay significant fines and legal expenses. Here are some of the consequences if you are caught driving while intoxicated:photo of someone being arrested

  • For a first offense (or first offense in over five years), your license will be revoked for 30 days followed by a 60-day suspension.
  • A second offense could result in a $1,000 fine, a year-long revocation of your license and up to a year in jail. You will also be required to install an ignition interlock system on your vehicle, preventing your car from starting when you have alcohol on your breath. Ignition interlock systems cost an average of $800 a year plus installation costs.
  • Third and subsequent offenses can be penalized with up to a $5,000 fine and/or up to seven years in jail.
  • If you cause a fatal crash while intoxicated, you could be charged with Involuntary Manslaughter, a felony resulting in up to seven years of jail time, a $5,000 fine or both.
More information on impaired driving

Alternatives  

• Music Video 

About Us
How Do I...
Contact Us
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
horz_bar
| | |
Missouri State Government
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.
 
 
 
 
RSS FeedYoutubeBlogFlickrTwitter Facebook